Clarkscript Logo 

 Printable List of UK Prime Ministers

Go to List of Prime Ministers & Administrations of the United Kingdom of Great Britain. (UK) that can be printed.

The Prime Minister of the United Kingdom and Northern Ireland (PM) is the political leader and head of His or Her Majesty's government; the reigning monarch is Head of State. Under the "royal prerogative" he or she, with the aid of the cabinet, carries out the business of government. Though appointed by the king or queen the Prime Minister, or "Premier", is usually the leader of the party with the most seats in parliament, to which body he or she is held accountable.

Elections take place by law every five years though are more usually called by the existing Prime Minister when he or she thinks they can win.

Sir Robert Walpole is regarded as the first true Prime Minister but there were other leaders or "First Lords of the Treasury" who governed Great Britain before that. The title of "Prime Minister" was not officially recognised till 1905.

 Prime Ministers UK to Print

2010 -              David Cameron (Conservative -Liberal coalition)
2007- 2010      Gordon Brown (New Labour)
2005-2007       Tony Blair (New Labour)
2001-2005       Tony Blair (New Labour)
1997-2001       Tony Blair (New Labour)
1992-1997       John Major (Conservative)
1990-1992       John Major (Conservative)
1983-1990       Margaret Thatcher (Conservative)
1979-1987       Margaret Thatcher (Conservative)
1979-1983       Margaret Thatcher (Conservative)
1976-1979       James Callaghan (Labour)
1974-1976       Harold Wilson (2nd time) (Labour)
1970-1974       Edward Heath (Conservative)
1964-1970       Harold Wilson (Labour)
1963-1964       Sir Alec Douglas-Home (Conservative)
1959-1963       Harold Macmillan  (Conservative)
1957-1959       Harold MacMillan (conservative)
1955-1957       Anthony Eden     (Conservative)
1951-1955       Winston Churchill (2nd time) (Conservative)
1945-1951       Clement Attlee (Labour)
1945-1950       Clement Attlee (Labour) 
1940-1945       Winston Churchill (Conservative, Coalition)
1939-1940       Neville Chamberlaine (Conservative)
1937-1939       Neville Chamberlain (Conservative)
1935-1937       Stanley Baldwin (3rd time)(Conservative, National coalition)
1931-1935       James Ramsay MacDonald (National coalition)
1929-1931       James Ramsay MacDonald  (2nd time) (Labour)
1924-1929       Stanley Baldwin (2nd time) (Conservative)
1924-1924       James Ramsay MacDonald (Labour)
1923-1924        Stanley Baldwin (Conservative)  
1922-1923       Andrew Bonar Law (Conservative)
1918-1922       David Lloyd George ( Conservative, Liberal coalition)
1916-1918       David Lloyd George (Conservative, Liberal, Labour coalition)
1915-1916       Herbert Asquith (Conservative Liberal, Labour coalition)
1908-1915       Herbert Asquith (Liberal)
1905-1908       Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman (Liberal)
1902-1905       Arthur Balfour   (Conservative)
1895-1902       Robert A. T. Gascoyne-Cecil, Marquis of Salisbury (2nd time) (Conservative)
1894-1895       Archibald Primrose, Earl of Rosebery (Liberal)  
1892-1894       William Gladstone (4th time)(Liberal)
1886-1892       Robert A. T. Gascoyne-Cecil, Marquis of Salisbury (2nd time) (Conservative)
1886-              William Gladstone (Liberal) (3rd time)
1885-1886       Robert A. T. Gascoyne-Cecil, Marquis of Salisbury (Conservative)  
1880-1885       William Gladstone (2nd time) (Liberal)
1874-1880       Benjamin Disraeli (Beaconsfield) (2nd time) (Conservative)
1868-1874       William Gladstone (Liberal)
1868-               Benjamin Disraeli  (Conservative)
1866-1868       Edward Stanley, Earl of Derby (3rd time) Conservative)
1865-1866       Lord John Russell (2nd time) (Whig)
1859-1865       Henry John Temple, Vicount Palmerston (2nd time) (Whig)
1858-1859       Edward Stanley, Earl of Derby (2nd time) (Conservative)
1855-1858       Henry John Temple, Viscount Palmerston  (Whig)
1852-1855       George Hamilton-Gordon, Earl of Aberdeen         (Conservative)
1852-               Edward Stanley,  Earl of Derby (Conservative)
1846-1852       Lord John Russell (Whig)
1841-1846       Sir Robert Peel (2nd time (Tory)
1835-1841       William Lamb, 2nd Viscount Melbourne    (2nd time)(Whig)
1834-1835       Sir Robert Peel (Tory)  
1834-1834       William Lamb, 2nd Viscount Melbourne    (Whig)
1830-1834       Charles Grey, 2nd Earl Grey (Whig)
1828-1830       Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington (Tory)     
1827-1828       Frederick Robinson, Viscount Goderich (Tory)
1827-               George Canning  (Tory)
1812-1827       Robert B. Jenkinson, Lord Liverpool (Tory)
1809-1812       Spencer Perceval (Tory)
1807-1809       W. H. Cavendish-Bentinck, 3rd Duke Portland, (2nd time) with Canning and
Castlereagh (Tory)      
1806-1807       William W. Grenville, Lord Grenville (coalition)
1804-1806       William Pitt, "The Younger"     (2nd time) (Tory)
1801-1804       Henry Addington (Tory)
1783-1801       William Pitt, "The Younger" (Tory)
1783-               W. H. Cavendish-Bentinck, 3rd Duke of Portland, Fox and North (coalition)       
1782-1783       William Petty, Earl of Shelburne (Whig)
1782-               Charles Watson-Wentworth,  Marquess of Rockingham ( 2nd time) (Whig)
1770-1782       Frederick North, Lord North (Tory)
1768-1770       Augustus Henry Fitzroy, Duke of Grafton (Whig)
1766-1768       William Pitt, "The Elder", Earl of Chatham (Whig)
1765-1766       Charles Watson-Wentworth,  Marquess of Rockingham (Whig)        
1763-1765       George Grenville (Whig)
1762-1763       John Stuart, Earl of Bute (Tory)
1761-1762       Thomas Pelham-Holles, Duke of Newcastle (Whig)
1757-1761       Thomas Pelham-Holles,Duke of Newcastle, (2nd time) with Pitt
1756-1757       William Cavendish, Duke of Devonshire, (Whig) with Pitt
1754-1756       Thomas Pelham-Holles, Duke of Newcastle (Whig)
1744-1754       Henry Pelham    (Whig)
1742-1744       Spencer Compton, Earl of Wilmington,  with Carteret (Whig)
1721-1742       Sir Robert Walpole (Whig)
1717-1721       James Stanhope 1st Earl Stanhope
1714-1717       Charles Townshend 2nd Viscount of Raynham, with Walpole (Whig)
1710-1714       Henry St John 1st Viscount Bolingbroke, with Harley (Tory)
1704-1710       Duke of Marlbourgh (Whig)
1702-1704       Duke of Marlbourgh (Tory)


Patriotic Song and Presidential Election Campaign song

Our Flag Stays Flying Free Learn how to write a patriotic song and win an election.

Video ?Our Flag Stays Flying Free? Read lyrics and follow tune.
Articles Improve Grammar Multiply with fingers Learn states and capitals

Books Gaelic Poems Queen Hynde  To do List FAQ

MISCStates and capitals work sheets States-mountains-heights Sitemap Presidents USA List Prime Ministers UK List PRIVACY POLICY

Software Darts Download Multiplication-Times-Tables Learn Times Tables List of 50 states

Blog Power up with Proverbs
Copyright W.Clark 2009 

Contact Privacy policy


Written by